A Sketch of Societal-Based Obstacles To Transformation After Trauma

In the preface to his book The Order of Things (1966/1973), Michel Foucault shared the following excerpt from an ancient Chinese encyclopedia: “… animals are divided into: (a) belonging to th…

Source: A Sketch of Societal-Based Obstacles To Transformation After Trauma

Yup. All of this. Unfortunately, in our deranged, alienated, deformed Western societies trauma survivors don’t get cut any slack. On the bright side: Uhm…. Yeah. About that…

Posted in Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “A Sketch of Societal-Based Obstacles To Transformation After Trauma

  1. I wish I had known of this before entering a massive effort on my part to understand PTSD and why I am now the human being that I am. This article by Dr. Kerr is a truth be told expose on this condition and explains a lot about my way of life since my early childhood traumas and later on in life traumas as well.

    • I think, she wrote an epic article that really shines a light on the complexity of this condition and how our endegenous limitations are aggravated by external parameters. In other words: Not only do we deal with what’s going inside of us, but even more so with how society responds to some of our behaviours, which I all understand as outcomes of coping. In yet different words: Society aren’t helping. But they should. We’re a long mile from seeing that, I’m afraid, even with all those returning vets…

      • I’m going to be reading this article a number of times to cement it in my thick head so I can bring it up in FuturevPTSD sessions. Damn I can account for at least 20 years of trauma after trauma piled on top of the one that came before. Talk about a test of human endurance! Shit, give a guy a break, okay???

      • “Shit, give a guy a break, okay???” Tell me about it, Rex… (but unfortunately, I never found that ‘break’ anywhere. Hope, it’s different for different people.)

Leave a Reply

