12 Ways Successful People Deal With Toxic People (Trigger Warning!)

12 Ways Successful People Deal With Toxic People.

Wow! One of my Facebook friends – and one of the few I’ve actually once met in real life – just shared this on their wall. In carefully familiarizing myself with these 12 very effective sounding ways of “disengaging” from the impact toxic people can have on your well-being, I immediately realized two things: 1., that much of what I’ve been dealing with throughout my entire life has a lot to do with the fact that unfortunately one of my former caretakers is – or at least was – a very toxic person to the point, where everyone around them is reduced to the part of feeding their disorder. 2. This is going to be my lifeline for the time ahead, where I have no other option but to temporarily move back to the house and people I grew up with/in. I’m going to save you the details of that situation, but let’s just say it’s either that or being homeless. Seeing as I don’t think I have the tools and robustness to actually survive as a homeless person, I have to comply with that option (while trying my best to be grateful, also, in order to make things hopefully go well).

I’d love to be positively surprised and I’m not ruling that option out per se. But having this list of really great sounding devices at hand is definitely going to help navigating those potentially difficult waters ahead. (And *sigh* – just when am I going to get a break again? Yeah, I hear you: I am going to have to make that break for myself. This in itsself will require taking the system on in the country I live in, which is another humunguous bear to wrestle with and which I’ve been wrestling with for the past 8+ years; in my best yoda voice: Carry on I must 😉 ).

4 thoughts on “12 Ways Successful People Deal With Toxic People (Trigger Warning!)

  1. It sucks that you have to be around that again. I’m sorry you have to deal with that. It’s great that you have a tool to help you through the difficulty. I try to remind myself that everything, in some way, is impermanent, so if I am experiencing discomfort, I know I cannot experience discomfort indefinitely. It has to change.
    In my country I feel as though mental health is not addressed or treated nearly often enough, and for those who need and want help but lack funding, it’s very difficult and time consuming to try to receive aid from the government. Good luck. The Force is with you, always. 🙂

    • Thanks for feeling me there, Kelly. I hope, I have built enough healthy “soul matter” to be o.k. in tolerating it. Some things have changed for the better over time on both parts, so I’m hoping for it to be bearable for the time being.
      Great thinking to remind ourselves of the impermanence of it all – that has become a lifeline for me as well, although one must actively and mindfully distance onesself from the current feelings and move into the “ueber ego” part of the self in order to do the trick.

      About mental health problems and how they’re addressed – or not! – in the health system: By now I could an encyclepia of mental health failures – or so it feels. Incompetence, lack of empathy and overall ignorance just took another young man from my home town about 2 weeks ago. In other words (and in a friendly way of saying it): Don’t get me started… 🙂

      Thx for your kind words again!

Leave a Reply

