Zu Gast: Helmut Schmidt (Bundeskanzler a. D.) | Video zu Menschen bei Maischberger | ARD | Das Erste Mediathek

Zu Gast: Helmut Schmidt (Bundeskanzler a. D.) | Video zu Menschen bei Maischberger | ARD | Das Erste Mediathek.

From watching above linked interview – unfortunately all in German without a voiceover as far as I know – I think, I’m understanding that this entire WW II generation have all experienced trauma and had to find ways of coping before the very term “trauma” became commonplace. I also think I am safe to say that “too hard” was never in my vocabulary. “Is it feasible?” would have been my approach. If it was feasible, the rest was a matter of effort and perseverance. However, after having lived by this mantra for some 40+ years, I have to realize that “feasible” is not the same as “probable” or likely. Some things can’t be accomplished through willpower and resolve. Some things take serenity, deliverance, faith – and benign peers. That’s the part I will need to learn how to embrace. In short: I’m going to have to figure out how to love people. (including my damaged self)

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

