I am not my Body, I am not my Mind, I am not my Emotions…

“We feel timelessness in sunsets like these……” – must be, why I’ve loved sunsets for as long as I can remember. As a boy, I had dreams depicting my personal version of heaven. The same image would keep coming up: I sit still, my back leaning against the wooden planks and beems of a modest cabin, looking into a magnificient sunset right across from where I sit, the entire scene overlooking a beautiful small pond or lake, with green meadows left and right, the feeling being one of utter peacefulness, tranquility and calm bliss. I seem to be on my journey back to that place somehow…

A Cosmic Ride

Image

 

Every so often, the Universe, Great Spirit, the Divine….reminds us that we are spiritual beings having a human experience.   During a recent yoga teacher training I heard those words every day: I am not my body, I am not my mind, I am not my thoughts – nor am I the emotions generated by my thoughts……   And thank you for the reminder God. I needed it.

I think we all need this reminder – on a regular basis. We forget so easily, the truth of who we really are. We become enmeshed, moment to moment, in the experience of being human – in the endless dramas, the constant stream of thoughts and their accompanying emotions. We feel our emotions (energy in motion) pricking through collections of molecules and muscles in our bodies: the nervous flutterings of the solar plexus, the contraction of the heart, the quietly furrowed brow and…

View original post 681 more words

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

