Theohumanity – The Missing Key. Now Found!

Via one of my numerous journeys through the world wide web, I came across this:

Theohumanity.

And it’s of epic significance to me! It is no less than everything I’ve been looking for in order to heal the outcomes of – can I say tragic? – events that happened to me at the very beginning of my life and which traditional forms of therapy or spiritual quest never satisfyingly addressed, let alone provided a plausible perspective for true healing. (and when I say healing, I mean it in such a way that you don’t have to keep revisiting pain from the past and don’t get aroused from unprocessed emotions any longer. I also mean healing through addressing and actually processing unprocessed material rather than discredit it in ways, traditional therapy usually refers to them – in rather helpless ways, if I might add).

For the past 7 going on 8 years and since having become completely unable to function in ways that we’re supposed to function in this Western world, I afforded myself the opportunity to explore those outcomes that had ultimately made into a less than desirable shadow of a person. Needless to say that this came at the price of losing all life savings, professional and the larger part of private networks and relationships, losing status, material and even personal autonomy to the point of having to report myself absent for periods longer than two weeks and at one point coming very close to the point of actually, really ‘losing it’. There is a host of experiences ranging from unpleasant to disconcerting to plain life-threatening that were associated with this process of self-exploration and research. I have made a number of new friends – mostly online – from this process and absorbed all information I thought of as relevant in regard to finding causes and solutions to the outcomes of my situation. If I had to put it in a nutshell, I’d say that after 2007 going forward I found myself ‘stranded in life’. Robbed of my life accomplishments, of health, relationships, confidence, faith, perspective – in short: Everything that should make life worthwhile, right? And I came in very close with the ultimate expression of despair: Suicide. In hindsight, what kept me from actually carrying out this act was the simple fact that I am unable to rule out a form of existance that might go beyond the physical. In other words – and this coming from a place of nihilism predominating my thinking at the time – I can not make 100% sure that by killing my physical body, I will have actually killed all of me! I think, the mere wording of this notion will give you an idea of the amount of despair I found myself ruled by at the time. (And I can’t say that despair to a greater or lesser extent doesn’t still rule much of my waking time…)

And then this. Theohumanity. The “three horrors” referred to in the section behind the link – actually, I found the three horrors in a related blog textimmediately resonated with me! It is these very three horrors that have brought about the worst panic attacks in my life from very early on that you might ever be able to imagine – or not. And I don’t want them to happen to anyone, I can’t even begin to put the depth of horror they inflicted on me in words. I should rather speak of the ultimate terror that those always caused to my system. And nothing, no religion, spiritual concept, therapy or person have ever helped me to overcome or at the very least lessen these three existential horrors. So now there is a handle to moving a roadblock I have been unable to move for as long as I can think.

I’m very excited to learn, what theohumanity is all about and how the process actually works. It’s the proverbial “Godsent” people often mention. Finally! There is real hope to heal and become the authentic self I was meant to be!

6 thoughts on “Theohumanity – The Missing Key. Now Found!

  1. Whew! The underlying material in the link took me a while to read, but I agree–it’s exciting! My therapist has commented from time to time that I am undergoing a paradigm shift, but she has never explained how she uses the term in that context. She believes that healing “puts good energy into the Universe” where it is accessible to all. Now, since reading this article, I’m beginning to rethink the meaning of “healing” and to see if I can conceptualize it in a relationship to “theohumanity.”

    I’ve noticed as I’ve gone through therapy that the traditional religious framework of my life has faded–as if I no longer need it to support my inner life. I’ve grown, instead, to appreciate the value of empathy and its application to human interactions. I have also noticed that empathy seems to have lost the race to greed and materialism for the past several decades.

    However, even though I read most of the material on the linked-to site, I am not crystal clear as to exactly what the author is proposing. How does one “get there’? Can you help me with this? Was the article originally written in English, or was it written in German? If it was written in German, then maybe if I read it in German I will understand it better. Help! Jean

    • It’s interesting how you mention previous religious/spirit models losing significance and how you mention empathy. I agree that the latter has lost out as things stand for now. And “coincidentally” – or not – a German author lady recently reached out to me – or let’s say our paths crossed – and she is in the process of writing a (new, follow-up) book on empathy and how we need to make room for it in our everyday lives more often again and how it is an ancient knowledge that got lost and of which we might benefit tremendeaslouy – as humans, not as number crunching zombies, the latter of which seem to have taken over – for now.

      Yes, Barron’s material is chunky and hefty and a little compounded and redundant from as much as I have read so far. I am not aware whether the original article was in German, but there is a German version of his content at http://theohumanity.org/theohumanity-deutsch/

      From what I have read so far is that Barron is simply dissatisfied with the concept of Buddhism (and related theories/philosophies/religions/traditions) that posit that we “transcend” the ego, which – if I understand correctly – pretty much boils down to learning how to neglect it. I find it consistent in Barron’s thinking to say that this is not satisfactory, as we all come from an “egoic” mindset culture, at least where Western readers/students/adherents are concerned. He places the emotional body at the core of our evolution and requires healing of our injuries before “higher planes” of consciousness and spirituality can be achieved. I agree. It always sounds like a slap in the face of those, who really got injured badly. It is no help to say “You have to put this in the past”, “you have to move on”, “you got to let this go” and similarly “sensitive” suggestions.

      How does one get there, to healing/recovery? I guess, he’s going to reveal that in the book, which I haven’t read yet and will have to take a looooong time until I can order it.

      Hope, this helped, Jean. Thanks for coming here, commenting and working with this!!

      • Thanks for your comments on this. It’s mind-boggling, at the least. I get a sense of what he is saying, but looks like I’ll have to wait for more to come. It’s possible that Amazon has his book for sale used, which can be a considerable saving. I don’t know if I’m ambitious enough to read it. Age has made reading more of a chore than it used to be. Thus, I write. But I am eager to find out what you get from the book! I believe your intellect is in better shape than mine is . . .

        I became interested in empathy when I read about the life of Edith Stein. I am sure that I understood her writing about empathy, and I KNOW I didn’t understand her writing on the topic of phenomenology; nevertheless, I was fascinated by her life and by her writing. I think that what really blew me away was the transition she made from non-practicing Jew to atheist to Catholic to Camelite nun. The religious aspects of her transition aside, just the fact that she made all those adaptations in her thinking is truly amazing! How many people do you know who are capable of doing that?? I certainly don’t know many. Actually, she transitioned from being totally wrapped up in her intellect to being a total Gefuhlsmensch–if I have the German concept accurate.

        When I read the remarks about emotional human life in the article, I thought of Edith Stein. Of course, unlike the ideal described in the article, Edith Stein lived within the framework of Catholicism. However, I’m not really sure that her religion affected her life adversely as suggested by Barron. But who knows? She died in a death camp after making the trip in the cattle car and caring for the children whose mothers were so badly traumatized that they were incapable of helping their little ones. So the story goes, anyway. If she were alive and here today, I believe that she might resonate with Barron’s ideas. Just a hunch. ; ) Jean

      • I’m not sure, whether or when I read the entire book, Jean. it’s like 35,- or something and the scarcity around here weighs on me. I will perform in November and will need new strings on two guitars, so I have to start setting aside for that NOW (and we’re only talking about some 15,- bucks – $ – here…).

        Gefuehlsmensch is right – your German hasn’t left you at all, very good! Yes, moving from the intellect to the heart, I think that’s pretty much Barron’s 500-something-pages message in a nutshell – tentatively speaking and barring further in-depth knowledge of the actual book.

        As I’m still struggling hard to release an egoic mindset, the idea of “giving myself away” in a way like Edith Stein did or like my musician friend Brian O’Neal does now with his DO Foundation, who work to remove as much homelessness as possible, is still a biggie for me. I guess, I haven’t really embraced an altruistic state of mind yet. To get there, it again means to completely remove the ego and its needs, perceived or real, whatever. It’s a tricky one to crack for me…

Leave a Reply

