JEFF BROWN – One thing I have learned with certainty is not to…

JEFF BROWN – One thing I have learned with certainty is not to….

One thing I have learned with certainty is not to stand in connection with those who diminish me. This is particularly difficult when family is involved, because we have a vested interest in perpetuating the family system for all kinds of different reasons. I don’t believe one should endure abuse no matter how attached they are to an idea of family. There are many families waiting for us (read: soulpod) just outside our habitual awareness. We are not responsible for those who diminish us. We really have to get that. We can be compassionate and we can certainly understand where their abusiveness comes from, but understanding the origins does not mean we have to endure it. Its not our cross to bear.

Sounds exactly like the exit route of my conundrum, which I’m reexperiencing while being here at the place I grew up in. While the abuse has stopped, soaring is not possible. The frame is too small. It all may have come from a benign place, but … let’s just say those motivations were well obscured at times. And even the very motivation is/was a questionable one. I have greater understanding and insight into the latter now. But the injuries… are there. And are likely to stay there for good. OK. I’m still here. And I’m stronger than what may have defined me in the past. As a matter of fact – I’m rewriting my own story.

2 thoughts on “JEFF BROWN – One thing I have learned with certainty is not to…

Leave a Reply

