Taking the Plunge

Reluctantly, but ever more often, I’ve alluded to and spoken about the condition (C-PTSD). Following my surgery a week ago and the ensuing realization that I’m defeated by any means that the system has in store against – not for! – me as far as healing options are concerned, I think I feel cornered enough now to just toss any considerations to the wind and openly speak up about this debilitating disability from here on. For starters and in order to facilitate generating awareness: Anyone of my fellow warriors inclined to come up with a logo? I’m thinking about something depicting an “invisible injury”/disability. Because as of late I seem to close in on the other realization that most of the things I’ve come to fear aren’t so much from my own incapacity or unwillingness or anything along those lines, but from the experience of having gotten sanctioned and punished on account of the condition, no matter how hard I may have tried to conceal it. Talk about adding insult to injury on steroids… So, since that concept fell through, I might as well do a 180 on that strategy and become an advocate from here on.

Your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

  1. I believe advocacy is a great step. It helps move from denial and resistance to understanding and acceptance… more for yourself, but also to benefit others. This is not a shameful condition (other than how we arrived at it). It is something to incorporate, with self-care, into our everyday lives.

    • Thank you, Kimberly. I’ll do my best to look at it this way. There’ll be some harsh consequences from this step, but there is no other way any longer. I have more or less taken the step unconsciously anyways. It’s about empowering myself and making a conscious choice. Choice is an act of self-empowerment. Thanks for your encouraging words, they mean a lot!

Leave a Reply

